Betfair Chase Tips

2018 Betfair Chase Result

? Bristol De Mai 13/2
? Native River 5/2
? Thistlecrack 10/1

The first major Grade One of the British National Hunt racing season is almost upon us and racegoers in the Merseyside area can look forward to a stellar renewal of the Betfair Chase this weekend.

Race organisers and sponsors created the Betfair Chase in 2005 and it was instantly included as the first leg of the Chasing Triple Crown. Kauto Star became the first, and only, horse to claim the £1m bonus a year later, when Paul Nicholls’ legendary chaser followed his triumph at Haydock with victories in the King George and the Gold Cup at Cheltenham.

The Betfair Chase

The Betfair Chase is a Grade One steeplechase race held at Haydock Park racecourse over a distance of three-miles each November for horses aged five years or older. It stands as the first Grade One contest of the British National Hunt season and is renowned for being the curtain-raiser for the new jumps campaign.

Founded in 2005, the Betfair Chase, registered as the Lancashire Chase, is a three-mile contest featuring 18 steeplechase fences. It was introduced by bookmaking heavyweights Betfair with a view to promoting a new ‘Betfair Million’ initiative in which the horse that won the three biggest chase’s of the season, the Betfair Chase, King George and Cheltenham Gold Cup, would gain a £1 million bonus.

One year after its introduction, the ‘Betfair Million’ was claimed by jump racing great Kauto Star as the Paul Nicholls-trained gelding went on to triumph in each of the three premier steeplechase races that season. Bookmakers Betfair later ended their £1 million incentive in 2009. During the 2015/2016 National Hunt season, the Jockey Club introduced their own £1 million initiative for the three leading races, naming it jump racings Triple Crown.

Despite the Betfair Chase boasting a short history, the race has quickly climbed the National Hunt hierarchy and is now viewed as one of the leading trials on route to the Cheltenham Gold Cup in March. Haydock may not possess the demands of Prestbury Park, but the track’s left-handed set-up gives connections a guide to whether their horse can handle such a task.


Betfair Chase day is renowned for being one of Lancashire’s finest afternoons of sporting action as thousands flock to Haydock to witness the best National Hunt horses do battle for the £200,000 prize-fund. It is the first Grade One opportunity for Britain and Ireland’s steeplechase heavyweight to clash and place down their own early marker for the campaign ahead.

Famous Lancashire Chase Winners

Despite only being a dozen or so years old, the Betfair Chase has been dominated by three horses whom between them have won the race nine times. The Paul Nicholls-trained Kauto Star has four victories – 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011 – while Cue Card, trained by Colin Tizzard, has won the race three times, in 2013, 2015 and 2016.

Another Paul Nicholls-trained horse – Silviniaco Conti – has won the race twice, in 2012 and 2014.