2021 Breeders Cup Race Cards

The Breeders’ Cup 2021 takes place at Del Mar racecourse in California on November 5 and 6 and features 14 races – 13 of them Grade 1s – with seven contests run on the grass track and seven on dirt.

The meeting has evolved since its inception in 1984 – then as a one-day, seven-race card – into a two-day meeting that provides a glamourous conclusion to the Flat season in America. The event attracts the best horses from around the world, who compete for $31 million in prize-money.

On this page you will find a full rundown of the meeting, including full Breeders’ Cup race cards and Breeders’ Cup post times, as well as what to expect on each of the two days.

Day one

Day one is billed as Future Stars Friday and consists of five races for two-year-olds. There are three races on grass – the Juvenile Turf Sprint, the Juvenile Turf and the Juvenile Fillies Turf – while the Juvenile Fillies and Juvenile are the two races for dirt horses.

The dirt races are worth $2 million each and the three turf races carry a $1 million purse. All except the Grade 2 Juvenile Turf Sprint are Grade 1 contests.

The Juvenile is regarded as the main race on Future Stars Friday. In 1991 it produced one the most memorable moments in Breeders’ Cup history when French trainer Francois Boutin sent Arazi to Churchill Downs to take on America’s best two-year-olds.

The European star was sent off favourite but was soon racing a distant last, more than 12 lengths behind the leader. However, he suddenly made his move and began to glide past his rivals one by one with seemingly minimal effort. He swept into the lead turning for home and pulled away for a five-length win – and it would have been more had his jockey Pat Valenzuela not eased down with victory assured.

It is widely regarded as one of the greatest performances at the Breeders’ Cup.

Day two

The Saturday is the big day in the Breeders’ Cup schedule, with nine Grade 1 races, including the two marquee contests – the Breeders’ Cup Mile and the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

European horses have enjoyed the vast majority of their success in the races run on turf, a surface more familiar to them than the dirt track.

The Breeders’ Cup Turf, over a mile and a half, has yielded the best results for the visitors – they have won the £4 million contest 23 times to the Americans’ 15.

The Turf provided Britain with their first Breeders’ Cup win when star filly Pebbles triumphed in 1985, while it also produced one of the finest moments in recent Breeders’ Cup history when the hugely popular British star Enable became the first winner of the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe to follow up at the meeting.

Tarnawa won for Europe last year and is a leading fancy to repeat her success. If she does, she will match fellow European stars High Chaparral and Conduit as the only dual Turf winners.

The Turf is the second-last race on the day-two card, with the most prestigious – and most valuable – saved until last.

The $6 million Classic often establishes the champion racehorse in American but it represents a huge challenge to the Europeans due to the unfamiliar dirt surface.

Despite this, the raiders have won it twice – with France’s Arcangues breaking the duck in 1993 at huge odds and the British-trained Raven’s Pass doubling the tally 15 years later.

Breeders’ Cup post times in the UK

Friday, November 5

Race 1 – 9:50pm
Race 2 – 10:30pm
Race 3 – 11:10pm
Race 4 – 11:50pm
Race 5 – 12:30am Saturday

Saturday, November 6

Race 1 – 7:05pm
Race 2 – 7:40pm
Race 3 – 8:19pm
Race 4 – 8:59pm
Race 5 – 9:38pm
Race 6 – 10:20pm
Race 7 – 11:00pm
Race 8 – 11:40pm
Race 9 – 12:40am Sunday

Breeders’ Cup Times Around The World

The Breeders’ Cup is more than the highlight of the season for the top American horses. It attracts runners from all over the world, including Europe, Australia, Japan, South Africa, the UAE and South America, and is watched by fans in countries all around the globe. 

Here are the Breeders’ Cup post times for each day’s action in some key worldwide locations.

Del Mar Friday first race 2.50pm / Saturday first race 12.05pm

London 9.50pm / 7.05pm

New York 5.50pm / 3.05pm

Melbourne 8.50am (Saturday) / 6.05am (Sunday) 

Paris 10.50pm / 8.05pm

Munich 10.50pm / 8.05pm

Tokyo 6.50am (Saturday) / 4.05am (Sunday) 

Buenos Aires 6.50pm / 4.05pm

Singapore 5.50am (Saturday) / 3.05am (Sunday)

New Delhi 3.20am (Saturday) / 12.35am (Sunday)

Hong Kong 5.50am (Saturday) / 3.05am (Sunday)

Beijing 5.50am (Saturday) / 3.05am (Sunday)

Cape Town 11.50pm / 9.05pm

Dubai 1.50am (Saturday) / 11.05pm

Breeders’ Cup TV Coverage

There is a huge global TV audience for the Breeders’ Cup, with the meeting traditionally broadcast live in more than 70 countries.

Racefans in Britain can watch the action live on ITV, who are broadcasting a full Breeders’ Cup schedule covering all 14 races. The terrestrial channel will have a presenting team at Del Mar and intend to show the big two races – the Classic and the Turf – on the main ITV channel, while the remaining 12 races broadcast on ITV4.

Sky viewers can watch every race live on the Sky Sports Racing channel, while the subscription service Racing TV also broadcast live coverage.

Many of the major bookmakers live-stream the action for their account holders. 

Frequently Asked Questions

When is Breeders’ Cup 2021?

Breeders’ Cup 2021 takes place over two days on Friday, November 5 and Saturday, November 6.

How much are Breeders’ Cup tickets?

Reserved seating for the Breeders’ Cup starts at $100, with dining packages ranging from $775 to $1,875 per person.

How many race are there in the Breeders’ Cup?

There are 14 races in the Breeders’ Cup, five on day one and nine on day two.

Where is this year’s (2021) Breeders’ Cup held?

This year’s Breeders’ Cup is at Del Mar racecourse, near San Diego, in California.

What is the Breeders’ Cup prize-money?

There is total prize-money of $31 million at the Breeders’ Cup. The most valuable race is the Breeders’ Cup Classic, which has a purse of $6 million, with just over half of that going to the winner.

How many people attend the Breeders’ Cup?

The crowd varies from year to year depending on the host track, but the highest attendance over the two days was set in 2016 when 118,484 racegoers packed into Santa Anita.