No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Melbourne Cup Tips

Check back here this October for our full preview of Australia's most prestigious thoroughbred race and get all of our free tips for the Melbourne Cup 2018.

2018 Melbourne Cup Preview

Check back closer to the Melbourne Cup for our preview of the 2018 race.

Melbourne Cup Betting Tips

Our betting tips will be available closer to the 2018 Cup.

Melbourne Cup

For over one hundred and fifty years now the Melbourne Cup has been the most famous race for thoroughbreds in Australia. It's a two mile race (or, to be exact, 3.2 kilometres as Australia fully adopted the metric system in 1972) for horses aged three years old and over. 

The prize money for this cash-laden race now stands at A$7.3 million, which is around £4 million or $5.4 million, making the Melbourne Cup one of the richest horse races in the world.

“The richest 'two mile' handicap in the world”

Although now twelve yards short of an official two mile race, the Melbourne Cup is still unofficially recognised as the richest 'two mile' handicap in the world. The prize money has practically doubled over the past twenty years, plus the winning owner gets to take home the historic Melbourne Cup itself, a trophy manufactured from 18-carat gold.

Flemington Racecourse

The Melbourne Cup is, understandably, run in Melbourne, at the Flemington Racecourse. This racecourse has been open since 1960, and hosts both flat and steeplechase races. It has a capacity of 120,000 spectators, and as well as the Melbourne Cup hosts the Victoria Derby and the Newmarket Handicap.

Melbourne Cup - Past Winners

Makbye Diva – owned by Tony Dantic and trained by David Hall and Lee Freedman, is the only horse to have won the Melbourne Cup three times, doing so in 2003, 2004 and 2005. She retired in 2005 as the highest-ever earner in Australian racing history with A$14 million. 

Three horses have won the race twice – Archer (1861, 1862), Peter Pan (1932, 1934), Rain Lover (1968, 1969) and Think Big (1974, 1979).

Upcoming Festivals

We have daily horse racing tips available online, packed with free racing bets and advice on all the races happening today. 

Bonus Bets United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

You have unread messages

    You have unread messages