Goodwood Cup 2022: Your Tipping Guide To This Year’s Goodwood Cup Stakes

The feature race of the opening day of Glorious Goodwood is the Group 1 Goodwood Cup where superstar stayer Stradivarius will bid his farewell to racing and aim to go out on a high with an unprecedented fifth win in the race.

Being traditionally one of the biggest betting races of not just the week, but the year, there are often numerous Goodwood Cup betting offers available for punters to capitalise on. This year looks to be no exception, with the Goodwood Cup 2022 shaping up to be a vintage renewal.

Run over a stamina-sapping distance of 2m, the current Goodwood Cup odds list is headed by Trueshan – who was a convincing winner in the race last year and has won his four races since.

Goodwood Cup Tips on Day 1 of Goodwood Festival

Race Silks Our Tip Place Bet
Al Shaqab Goodwood Cup 

(3:35 Goodwood)

owner details Stradivarius Place Bet

Goodwood Cup Betting Guide

Below are some of the key trends to follow for the race:

  • 9 of the last 12 winners were aged between 4-6. 
  • 7 of the last 12 winners went off as favourite.
  • 10 of the last 12 winners came from the top 3 in the betting. 
  • 12 of the last 12 winners had their last run within 42 days.
  • 11 of the last 12 winners had at least one win in Group company.
  • 12 of the last 12 winners had at least 2 previous runs that season.
  • 10 of the last 12 winners had a rating of 113+.
  • 10 of the last 12 winners had at least 1 previous run over 16 furlongs.
  • 8 of the last 12 winners had at least 1 previous run at Goodwood.

What to expect at this year’s Goodwood Cup

Stradivarius is expected to make his final appearance of his career in the Goodwood Cup, and it would be a fitting finale for the staying star if he made it an unprecedented fifth win in the race. Having won the last four renewals that he’s raced in, he knows what it takes and connections will be hopeful he can sign off with the most fitting win of his career.

There will be plenty of rivals bidding to take over as the next staying star, and perhaps the most suitable replacement would be last year’s winner, Trueshan. Since winning that race, Alan King’s star has won his next four races, including a Group 1 in France and the the Long Distance Cup on Champions Day at Ascot. Perhaps his most impressive victory came last time out in the Northumberland Plate, where he won off a record high weight. He raced off 10st 8lbs that day – the biggest weight to win the race before that was 9st 10lbs, a huge 12lbs difference!

Another possibility for the next staying star is A P O’Brien’s Kyprios, who burst onto the staying scene when winning the Ascot Gold Cup in June, staying on strongly to get the better of Mojo Star and Stradivarius. That was his first attempt at a trip over 1m 6f, so it was some effort from his master trainer!

One things for sure, this race is going to be an absolute belter!

History of The Goodwood Cup

Having had its inaugural renewal back in 1812, the Goodwood Cup is one of the longest-standing races that still remains in the British horse racing calendar.

One of the most famous winners of the Goodwood Cup was Kincsem (1878) who ended her career with an incredible unbeaten career record of 54 wins from 54 starts – something yet to be surpassed.

The Goodwood Cup is a fairly recent addition to the Group 1 list, having had its classification upgraded in 2017 (previously held Group 2 status from 1995).

Won by the likes of Double Trigger, Yeats and Big Orange in recent years, it is perhaps the reigning Goodwood Cup winner Stradivarius, however, who has created the biggest imprint on the race.

Bred and owned by Bjorn Nielsen, Stradivarius has won the Goodwood Cup on four consecutive occasions, making him the most successful horse in the race’s history. His first victory in the race came as a three-year-old, and in doing so he became the first Goodwood Cup winner from that age group since Lucky Moon (1990).

Stradivarius’s regular rider Frankie Dettori will break the record for most Goodwood Cup wins (6) if riding the seven-year-old to a memorable final victory in 2022.

Goodwood Cup Winners of The Last 15 Years

Year Winner Trainer Jockey
2006 Yeats Aidan O’Brien Michael Kinane
2007 Allegretto Sir Michael Stoute Ryan Moore
2008 Yeats Aidan O’Brien Johnny Murtagh
2009 Schiaparelli Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori
2010 Illustrious Blue William Knight Jim Crowley
2011 Opinion Poll Mahmood Al Zarooni Frankie Dettori
2012 Saddler’s Rock John Oxx Johnny Murtagh
2013 Brown Panther Tom Dascombe Richard Kingscote
2014 Cavalryman Saeed bin Suroor Kieren Fallon
2015 Big Orange Michael Bell Jamie Spencer
2016 Big Orange Michael Bell Jamie Spencer
2017 Stradivarius John Gosden Andrea Atzeni
2018 Stradivarius John Gosden Andrea Atzeni
2019 Stradivarius John Gosden Frankie Dettori
2020 Stradivarius John Gosden Frankie Dettori
2021 Trueshan Alan King Hollie Doyle