Hong Kong International Races Tips

2018 Hong Kong International Races Preview

Our preview of the 2018 international races will be available in November.

Hong Kong International Races Betting Tips

Our expert tips will be available when the betting markets open.

Hong Kong Cup Tips

Hong Kong Mile Tips

Hong Kong Vase Tips

Hong Kong Sprint Tips

Hong Kong Cup

Of the fabulous foursome, the Hong Kong Cup is arguably the jewel in the crown, and the Group One contest takes place over a 2000 metre distance – around ten furlongs – for the race which is the richest race in the world over the trip.

First run in 1988, making it the oldest of the four races which make up the Hong Kong International Races, the race has progressed not only in distance – it was first run over 1800 metres – but also in prestige, opening its’ doors to international contenders the following year for runners from Australia and New Zealand.

From 1990, European runners were invited to participate; while following years saw first horses from the United States, and then Canada and Japan also invited to join the fray for the top-class prize.

The race has produced notable winners, over the years with the likes of A Shin Hikare, California Memory, Snow Fairy, Vision d’Etat, Fantastic Light and Falbrav all feature amongst a classy list of winners; while there is sure to be many more top-class winners in the years to come.

Hong Kong Vase

The third of the four top-class contests that make up the Turf World Championships, the Hong Kong Vase was first introduced into the line-up in 1994.

Taking place over the longest trip of 2,400 metres – 1.5 miles – the race wasn’t always a Group One contest, attaining that lofty status in 2000. Throughout its’ years to date, thee race has held a particular affinity for European raiders, and the late Clive Brittain won the race twice in succesive years with the high-class Luso.

There have been plenty of significant winners of this race over the years, many of whom have enjoyed plenty of international success with the likes of Highland Reel, Flintshire, Red Cadeaux, dual-winner Doctor Dino and Oujia Board all featuring on a star-studded roll-of-honour.

The Ivan Allan-trained Indigenous became the first Hong Kong-trained runner to win the Vase, taking the top-class prize in 1998.

Hong Kong Mile

First introduced in 1991, the 1600 metre – one mile – Hong Kong Mile contest is the second of the top-class quartet of races that make up the Hong Kong International Races meeting.

However, the classy contest was once known by a different title – the Hong Kong International Bowl – and took place over a distance short of one mile with a 1400 metre trip. However, the race took its new incarnation, changing its’ name and distance in 1999.

Having attained Group One status in 2000, the race carries a huge winners’ purse, and has produced such winners as the mighty Able Friend, Able One, three-time winner Good Ba Ba and Firebreak amongst others.

Hong Kong Sprint

The baby of the quartet, the Hong Kong Sprint is the most recent addition to the line-up, and the top-class dash held its’ first running in 1999, where it was contested over a trip of 1000 metres.

The richest race in the world over that distance up until 2006, the race changed in 2002 where it was awarded Group One status; although the race didn’t change in distance until 2006 when it was increased to its’ current trip of 1200 metres, or six furlongs.

Remaining as one of the richest sprints over the trip or shorter, the race is the final leg in the Global Sprint Challenge, which also includes races such as the Golden Shaheen at Meydan; the King’s Stand Stakes at Royal Ascot; the July Cup at Newmarket; and the Age Classic at Flemington.

History has shown a penchant for the race to throw up multiple winners of the race, with Falvelon, Silent Witness, Sacred Kingdom and Lord Kanaloa all capturing the top-class sprint on more than one occasion; while other notable winners include Peniaphobia and JJ the Jet Place.

Sha Tin Racecourse

Sha Tin is one of only two racecourses in the whole of the small territory of Hong Kong, the other being Happy Valley. Established in 1978, the course has capacity for 85,000 racegoers, and holds most of Hong Kong’s leading horse-races. Typical conditions for the course are dependent upon the weather.

Famous Winners

Three horses have won the event twice: Falvelon (2000, 2001), Silent Witness (2003, 2004), Sacred Kingdom (2007, 2009), Lord Kanaloa (2012, 2013) and Aerovelocity (2014, 2016). The course record of 1:07.80 was set in 2006 by the David Hall-trained Absolute Champion.

No horse has, as yet, won the Hong Kong Sprint and gone on to win the Global Sprint Challenge. The challenge itself was not run in 2018, but is hoping to resume in 2019.