Preakness Stakes Tips

The 2019 instalment of the famous Preakness Stakes will take place on the 18th of May, our experts will share their free tips and predictions ahead of the race.

2019 Preakness Stakes Preview

Our preview of the 2019 Preakness Stakes will be available in April.

Preakness Stakes Betting Tips

Preakness Stakes tips are not available at this time.

Preakness Stakes

The Preakness Stakes forms the second event in what is known as the ‘Triple Crown’ of US horse racing, the other events being the Kentucky Derby and the Belmont Stakes. It is typically held each year on the third Saturday in May, at the Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore. This Grade I race is for three years olds and runs over a short distance of nine and a half furlongs.

The event actually predates the more lucrative Kentucky Derby by two years, being first run in 1873. The race has been held without fail each year aside from a break between 1891 and 1893 inclusive.

The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans

This race is known informally as The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans. This is because the traditional wreath that is placed around the winner’s neck is made from yellow flowers in order to resemble the Maryland State flower, known as the black-eyed Susan.

Stage 2 of the Triple Crown

As mentioned above, the Preakness Stakes is the second event in the US thoroughbred triple crown, run two weeks after the Kentucky Derby. Any horse that wins both events and the Belmont Stakes in June goes down in history as a Triple Crown Winner.

Pimlico Race Course

Opened as long ago as 1870, the Pimlico Race Course is named in honour of the Olde Ben Pimlico’s Tavern, in London, and is owned by the Maryland Jockey Club. It has staged every running of the Preakness Stakes. The Race Course has survived many unfortunate events during its history, including 1904’s Great Fire of Baltimore, and the US Depression in the 1930s.

Notable Preakness Stakes Winners

The record margin of victory – a stunning eleven and a half lengths – was set by Smarty Jones in 2004. No horse has ever won the Preakness Stakes on more than one occasion. The legendary Secretariat owns the speed record for the race, romping home in 1973 in one minute and fifty-three seconds.

Eddie Arcaro is the most successful jockey in the event, winning six times between 1941 and 1957.

What are the next racing events?

Looking for more free tips? Check out our daily horse racing tips – packed with analysis and betting advice on every meeting that day.