Stewards’ Cup 2022: Your Tipping Guide To This Year’s Stewards’ Cup Stakes

Glorious Goodwood culminates with a fantastic Saturday card, headlined by the ultra-competitive Stewards’ Cup.

One of the most eagerly anticipated handicaps in the horse racing calendar, the Stewards’ Cup is often on the list of top betting races of the entire year. That is often due to its competitiveness, with up to 28 runners scorching down the 6f Goodwood track.

Stewards’ Cup Tips on Day 5 of Goodwood Festival

Race Silks Our Tip Place Bet
Stewards’ Cup

(3:20 Goodwood)

owner details Regional Place Bet

The current Stewards’ Cup betting has a range of sprinters, from unexposed three-year-olds to hardy veterans. Our Stewards’ Cup tips factor in everything from the ground to the draw, and with bookmakers fighting for business on one of the busiest betting days of the year, it is worth keeping on top of any offer revolving around the Stewards’ Cup.

These Stewards’ Cup 2022 offers can involve anything from extra places to free bets, and our tipping guide will aid in identifying the best of these offers and how you can capitalise on them.

Stewards’ Cup Betting Guide

Below are some of the key trends to follow for the race:

  • 7 of the last 12 winners aged 3-4.
  • 10 of the last 10 winners weighed between 8st 11lbs – 9st 10lbs.
  • Just 1 winning mare in the last 10 years (Dancing Star – 2016).
  • Just 3 winning favourites in the last 10 years. 
  • Frankie Dettori ridden the winner 2 times in the last 7 years (Magical Memory in 2015 + Lancelot Du Lac in 2017). 
  • Since 2000, there has been 11 winners at double-figure odds (biggest odds were 40/1 Conquest in 2008). 

What to expect at this year’s Stewards’ Cup

The Stewards’ Cup is usually a wide-open race and this year appears to be no different, with every runner available at a double-figure price currently.

Eve Johnson Houghton’s Jumby currently heads the betting, after an eyecatching third in the Bunbury Cup earlier this month. He would’ve undoubtedly finished closer with a clearer run and deserves his place towards the head of the betting.

Wokingham Stakes runner-up Popmaster finished ahead of Jumby at Royal Ascot and looks to have every opportunity of maintaining that form here. Ed Walker’s gelding has finished runner-up in his last two races and will be hoping to go one better this time around.

Besides those two, there are a range of interesting horses lining up for the Stewards’ Cup 2022.

One such horse is Inver Park, who has been a revelation this season, including winning his last three races. The last of those came in the Buckingham Palace Stakes, where he stayed on well to land the hat-trick.

2021 winner Commanche Falls and 2020 winner Summerghand are both potential runners, yet no horse has successfully defended a Stewards’ Cup title since Sky Diver (1967, 1968).

History of The Stewards’ Cup

The inaugural renewal of the Stewards’ Cup took place at Goodwood back in 1840. No horse has won the Stewards’ Cup on three occasions, yet five horses have won the race twice, with the most recent of those being Sky Diver (1967, 1968).

Richard Hughes is currently the most successful rider in the history of the Stewards’ Cup, having won four renewals of the race. Hughes’ first victory in the Stewards’ Cup came on Shikari’s Son (1995) and his final win came almost twenty years later on Intrinsic (2014).

Three-year-old runners went 17 years without a winner from 1997 to 2014, yet that has been reversed in recent years with three of the last six winners coming from that age group – all three being sent off as the race favourite.

Not unusually for a sprint handicap of this nature, there have been some shock results down the years. Three of the last six winners have been priced up at 20/1 or bigger, whilst Conquest (2008) and Shikari’s Son (1995) both took the race at odds of 40/1. Something to bear in mind for anyone looking for Stewards’ Cup tips.

Stewards’ Cup Winners of The Last 15 Years

Year Winner Trainer Jockey
2006 Borderlescott Robin Bastiman Royston French
2007 Zidane James Fanshawe Jamie Spencer
2008 Conquest William Haggas Dane O’Neill
2009 Genki Roger Charlton Steve Drowne
2010 Evens And Odds David Nicholls Billy Cray
2011 Hoof It Mick Easterby Kieran Fallon
2012 Hawkeyethenoo Jim Goldie Graham Lee
2013 Rex Imperator William Haggas Neil Callan
2014 Intrinsic Robert Cowell Richard Hughes
2015 Magical Memory Charles Hills Franie Dettori
2016 Dancing Star Andrew Balding David Probert
2017 Lancelot Du Lac Dean Ivory Frankie Dettori
2018 Gifted Master Hugo Palmer Jason Watson
2019 Khaadem Charles Hills Jim Crowley
2020 Summerghand David O’Meara Daniel Tudhope
2021 Commanche Falls Michael Dods Connor Beasley