Nassau Stakes 2022: Your Tipping Guide To This Year’s Nassau Stakes Stakes

Glorious Goodwood enters the third day of top-class horse racing action where an eight-race card awaits punters with the Group 1 Nassau Stakes spearheading the Thursday fixture.

Boasting a first prize in excess of £340,000 the top-class contest goes to post at 3.35pm as the fourth race of the day at the Sussex Downs and the field will each have an eye on the big prize in what promises to be another cracking renewal of this prestigious contest.

Qatar Nassau Stakes Tips on Day 3 of Goodwood Festival

RaceSilksOur TipPlace Bet
Qatar Nassau Stakes(3:35 Goodwood)owner detailsNashwaPlace Bet

The current Nassau Stakes betting has a clear favourite – John & That Gosden’s Nashwa.  However, she will have plenty of big-name challengers, including the likes of Inspiral, La Petite Coco and Tuesday.

With such a mouthwatering race in prospect, it is perhaps no surprise that asides from Nashwa, the Nassau Stakes odds are pretty compact, and as such, there is plenty of bookmakers offers focused on the Nassau Stakes for punters to get stuck into.

Nassau Stakes Betting Guide

Below are some of the key trends to follow for the race:

  • 6 of the last 9 winners were aged 3 years old.
  • 10 of the last 12 winners rated 111+.
  • 10 of the last 12 winners won at least one Group race.
  • 8 of the last 12 winners had won a Group 1 race.
  • 11 of the last 12 winners had at least 2 previous runs that season.
  • Just 2 of the last 12 winners had previously run at Goodwood.
  • 10 of the last 12 winners came from the top 3 in the betting.
  • 8 of the last 12 winners had at least 1 previous win over 1m 2f.

What to expect at this year’s Nassau Stakes

The Nassau Stakes betting list is a relatively open one, with five horses currently available at single-figure odds.

That being said, there is a clear market leader – John & Thady Gosden’s Nashwa.

Having finished third in the Epsom Oaks behind Tuesday and Emily Upjohn, she then went over to France where she stayed on gamely to win the French Oaks. That was by far her best effort in her career to date, and she’ll have to be at a similar level here to hold of the challengers.

La Petite Coco is likely to be one of her main challengers, after signing off last year with Group 3 + 2 victories and returning with a Group 1 victory in the Pretty Polly Stakes last month.

Another John & Thady Gosden runner that is prominent in the betting is Inspiral, who recently lost her unbeaten record when beaten by 16/1 shot Prosperous Voyage in the Falmouth Stakes. Inspiral was 1/7 that day, so it remains to be seen whether that was a one-off poor display or if there is another issue with her.

The last horse we’re going to discuss is A P O’Brien’s Tuesday, who was a perhaps fortunate winner of the Epsom Oaks, after Emily Upjohn completely blew the start and only finished a short head behind her. She went up against the boys in the Irish Derby last month, finishing an admirable fourth, but was never any match for the runaway leader Westover that day.

If they all line up here, we’re in for one hell of a race!

History of The Nassau Stakes

The Nassau Stakes had its inaugural renewal back in 1840, but it was not until 1911 that the race was run over its current distance of 1m2f.

Promoted to Group 1 classification in 1999, Sir Henry Cecil is currently the most successful trainer in the race’s history having trained eight winners from 1975-2011. The most famous of those being the mighty Midday, who took three consecutive renewals from 2009-2011. Midday’s three Nassau Stakes victories make her the most successful horse in the history of the race.

Despite being opened up to horses aged four or older back in 1975, three-year-old’s have dominated the Nassau Stakes. Six of the last nine renewals of the Nassau Stakes have gone the way of three-year-olds, and from 1993-2003 every renewal of the race went to a three-year-old.

Nassau Stakes Winners of The Last 15 Years

2006Ouija BoardEd DunlopFrankie Dettori
2007Peeping FawnAidan O’BrienJohnny Murtagh
2008Halfway To HeavenAidan O’BrienJohnny Murtagh
2009MiddaySir Henry CecilTom Queally
2010MiddaySir Henry CecilTom Queally
2011MiddaySir Henry CecilTom Queally
2012The FugueJohn GosdenRichard Hughes
2013WinsiliJohn GosdenWilliam Buick
2014SultaninaJohn GosdenWilliam Buick
2015LegatissimoDavid WachmanWayne Lordan
2016MindingAidan O’BrienRyan Moore
2017WinterAidan O’BrienRyan Moore
2018Wild IllusionCharlie ApplebyWilliam Buick
2019DeirdreMitsuru HashidaOisin Murphy
2020Fancy BlueDonnacha O’BrienRyan Moore
2021Lady BowthorpeWilliam JarvisKieran Shoemark